Tuesday, August 25, 2009

The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

Today was day two of no pop. Anybody who says caffeine is not a drug, just try to give it up and you will see. Last night my headache was so severe that I got in bed right after dinner around five and did not get up except for at 7:30 to turn off my light, so I could go to sleep. Today at work I broke out in a sweat twice for no apparent reason, and came home with another major headache (although not as bad as yesterday). I feel like one of those druggies you always see in withdrawl scenes in movies. This morning I was gnawing on a piece of gum like someone who tries to quit smoking. Caffeine is a drug!

I just got done reading an article about giving up pop. It says how many rely on pop for a jolt of energy during the day; however, giving up pop will actually give you more energy throughout the day, because you won't have a crash that often comes after drinking caffeine and you are also able to sleep better at night. They also say you will lose weight because food has a hard time going through your system with all that caffeine and sugar in your system. That's the good news for me, but the bad news is the website says I may go for days or even weeks of being tired, irritable, and having headaches before I see any positive results. Eye on the prize! I apologize in advanced to anybody who crosses my path :) FYI they also said diet pop is bad because artificial sweetners are just as bad for you as sugar.

In an unrelated note, I also decided to give up french fries, which will be missed but nowhere near as hard as giving up pop.

No comments:

Post a Comment